Visa in Budapest Hungary

What visa is required for Budapest Hungary?

Visa free entry:

Entry visas, to put it simply, are not required for EU citizens, and travellers from the USA and Canada if you stay less than 3 months. But the list of countries is a lot longer:

Citizens of countries listed in the 539/2001/EC council regulation Annex II. (“positive list”) may travel to Hungary without visa: Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Barbados, Belarus, Bulgaria, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, British nationals (overseas), Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (holders of biometric passports.), Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, Georgia, Ghana, Green Verde, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong (holders of a “Hong Kong Special Administrative Region”passport), Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Macao (holders of a “Regiao Administrativa Especial de Macau” passport), Macedonia, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro (holders of biometric passport), Morocco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Romania, Russia, Salvador, Samoa, San Marino, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Serbia (holders of biometric passports, excluding holders of Serbian passports issued by the Serbian Coordination Directorate [in Serbian: Koordinaciona uprava]), Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Svatý Kryštof a Nevis, Swaziland, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tonga, Turkey, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen.

Citizens of other countries can get a visa at the Hungarian Embassy or Consulate in their own countries. Please allow ample time as in some cases the administrative procedure of obtaining a visa to Hungary might take 4-6 weeks. A valid passport is required among others.

For more information about visas, please check the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

  • How to apply for a visa to Hungary?
  • Visa fees – Hungary
  • Visa application forms – Hungary
  • Visa waiver agreements – Hungary

Hungary – Shengen Visa

From December 21, 2007 Hungary is a member of the Schengen Area, and applies the Schengen legislation in full. From December 21, 2007 24 states, 22 of the 27 member states of the European Union (Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden) as well as Norway and Iceland are part of the Schengen Area. At the same time several members of the European Union, i.e. Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom do not yet participate in the Schengen cooperation.

Significant changes subsequent to Hungary’s Schengen-membership are that

  • visas and residence permits issued by one of the Schengen States are valid also for Hungary,
  • visas issued by Hungarian representations abroad and residence permits issued by Hungarian national authorities are also valid for the entire Schengen Area.

The visa sticker, which looks the same for all Schengen States, bears the words “valid for Schengen States”.

Last updated: May 2018